6) One Way for a Child to Gain Self-Confidence That Works Every Time

In the last post you read about my grandmother from North Minneapolis, Minnesota. In this post you will read about the importance of self-confidence.

I talk a lot about self-confidence in this book.

Early encouragement from my Mom helped mine and supported my decisions
to make risky and sometimes contrarian choices during the next
50 years of my life. Not that those decisions have always been brilliant. But they have always been mine. And I haven’t been afraid to make them.

Being the youngest of the four – and I have recently heard this from brother Dean as well – as a child I was cute and energetic. These characteristics often endear a wee one to the family. Our family was no different and I felt well supported and therefore took that as encouragement to believe that in life, I could accomplish anything. That still drives me today.

After School Sports and the Gift of Athletics Helped me Build Self-Confidence – Even Before I Understood Why

Weights080205121740-largeOn the self-confidence, much of mine was built on playing sports after school with my friends. Later in life when I discovered the benefits of lifting weights, swimming, running and cycling, my self-confidence soared. More about that later. My brother and sisters have also been active in sports – although at times for me, fitness has been a consuming passion. I never set out to get confident with my fitness. But for me, one has followed the other.

Self-Confidence Helps People Take Action

From Jack Welch, former boss of The General Electric Company, on self-confidence, “Giving people self-confidence is by far the most important thing that I can do.
Because then they will act.”

As a 12-year-old, I didn’t know much about self-confidence. But looking back from my age now at 62, I can see the role fitness and family encouragement served to help build mine.

Later in this blog, when I was old enough to be curious about the relationship of self-confidence to “success” in life, I began to read and learn about this important human attribute.

Photo: http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2008/02/080205121740.htm

Are you confident? If so, how did you develop it?

Next: A Very Good Arm Wrestler, But an Even Better Locksmith

Leave a Reply

