78) Does Career Fit Matter?

Welcome new reader!

I am glad you are here.

In the previous post I shared with you a couple of setbacks I experienced in the year 2000, at the age of 50. In this post I try to provide evidence, based solely on my own experience, that getting hired for the wrong job usually ends badly.

You read about aptitudes in posts #46 “What are Aptitudes?“and #48 “How Aptitude Testing Can Help in Choosing Work that Fits You”.

Have you ever been hired for the wrong job?

That is, have you ever been hired, then started working only to discover, despite your best efforts, you were not able to complete your assignments (or learn how to complete them in a reasonable amount of time)?

In the year 2000, at the age of 50, this happened to me.

First some background.

After literally dozens of job interview situations, many books on the topic, a few seminars and years of direct sales experience, I became so  good at getting hired, I usually only had to meet the hiring authority and sit across from him for a few minutes to advance the hiring process. This process usually culminated in an offer of employment.

The more my engineering resume grew, the more proficient I became.

An Unworkable Situation

Okay, that year I talked myself into a position with Acme Semiconductor  (name changed) that in some ways was ABOVE my skill level. Without getting into semiconductor industry jargon, I discovered I was able to do about 50% of my work using a combination of natural talents (aptitudes), high motivation, high energy, and learning. On the other 50% of the assignments – rooted in math or code based problem solving – I was dysfunctional. And on these tasks, I needed help from others in our small group. As months passed, and we all realized I wasn’t working autonomously on one half my stuff in the design lab, this put a strain on all of us.

In a nutshell, here in my little example of a bad job choice, I was bored on the 50% of the work I was capable of doing and incapable of  completing the other 50% without help.

You read about what eventually happened at Acme Semiconductor in my last post #77.

Conclusion

What am I trying to say with my real life example of getting hired for a professional position that is not a good fit?

It has a very good chance of ending badly!

This is because if we are hired for a job we cannot seem to learn, the job experience will decay.

In my little example, I sucked at math and code writing (was not learning it) and job performance went from dysfunctional to hopeless.

Thankfully, if we use it, we have an enormous capacity to learn about stuff like this as we go. And to quit making the same mistakes.

But life happens, doesn’t it?

Next: I will attempt to describe cliques and insiders within the semiconductor engineering community, which I call “Engineering Tribes”.

Leave a Reply

