79B) The British American University School of Law

Welcome to my blog!

I am happy you are here.

In my last  post, I described a concept known as tribes. Tribes are groups we belong to that help us survive, differentiate ourselves, and help us and others achieve our goals. In this post my career takes a sharp turn, and I enroll in law school. 

I was sick of my career as a mask design contractor. Constant travel, alienation and high stress.

But if you have been following my blog at all, you will know I believe in being accountable. And for almost all of us, the decisions we have made up until today, have determined EXACTLY what is in our lives right this moment. So to lead a principled life – and accountability is one of my principles – I must acknowledge I chose my career in mask design. I simply failed to make an effective transition at the appropriate time. Although it’s not like I didn’t try – several times.

The British American University Law School

The idea of going to law school appealed to me for a few reasons:

  • it is a well-compensated professional career with many sub-specialties,
  • it has a relatively high barrier to entry so those who complete training are valued,
  • and it uses aptitudes (or natural strengths) that I seem to possess.

The British American University Law School – at least in 2001 – did not require a law school entrance exam, could be taken online and offered generous financial accommodations. The California approved school was not accredited by the American Bar Association (ABA), but graduates of the program earning the Juris doctor (JD) designation could practice law IN California.

Since my academic credentials were marginal, and The British American University School of Law was about my only option, I enrolled in the fall of 2001, right before I left Colorado to go to Intel in Chandler, Arizona.

Since the program was offered COMPLETELY online, in theory I should have been able to continue my studies during my mask design contract with Intel in 2001. But that was not the case.

So, without fanfare, and with a lucrative new mask design contract in hand, I withdrew from law school, after only two months or so.

No Regrets

Looking back, my decision to attend BAU was a little flakey. Even desperate. But in spite of leaving early,  I am grateful to have had the opportunity to read a few chapters in my books on contracts and torts. Moreover, I was able to talk to other law students who eventually became attorneys. Many of them possessed the gift of analytical reasoning and the ability to express themselves in writing, which I was able to see in their case studies. More than anything, what it takes to successfully complete law school is a memory for the particulars of civil and criminal cases, the discipline to follow a proven, organized approach to study and the ability to break down complex concepts into digestible pieces.

BTW, I still own the books, which apparently are the same books as the Harvard Law School students use, although they may not admit this.

Leave a Reply

