84) A Remarkable Contract Assignment Location

Hey, welcome to my autobiography!

In 2002-2003 I experienced one of the most grueling, lonely mask design contract assignments on the planet: Intel Design Center, Chandler, Arizona. In this post I’ll tell you about one of the BEST (of many)!

I returned to Fort Collins, Colorado from my contract with Intel in Arizona and spent a couple of weeks just de-compressing from an exhausting assignment.

With still no local positions available I soon realized – at least in the short-term – I was a road warrior again, just like 1996 when we left New Hampshire to take a contract with HP in Colorado.

I had survived Intel Chandler. We had saved a few dollars, but my expenses in Arizona were higher than anticipated, and Steve’s medical expenses during some months were running hundreds of dollars above our health insurance benefits. This made it very difficult for Nadine to conduct her monthly cash flow forecasts. This uncertainty and my work status put a strain on things at home.

Sun

Sun Microsystems

Out of the blue a 3-month contract appeared in Sunnyvale, California with Sun Microsystems. As it happened, I knew the brother of the hiring manager at Sun. I knew him from the time I worked at Analog Devices in Massachusetts, during 1989.

This was a very bad economy, of that I was sure. I later came to understand this particular contract with Sun – I learned this through my active recruiting network – was the ONLY one available at the time in the ENTIRE country. Adding to the drama, I was asked to fly to California to interview for the contract, a very rare occurrence in mask design contracting. I made the trip at my own expense and interviewed with 3 individuals. The interviews were behavioral (rather than technical) and were quite easy.

A Hardware/Software Company

Sun was somewhat of an oddity, while it existed. Like Apple and IBM, Sun was a hybrid enterprise, which under the guidance of Steve McNealy, produced hardware AND software during the 1990’s and early 2000’s.

Sun Microsystems, Inc. was a company that sold computers, computer components,computer software, and information technology services and that created the Java programming language, and the Network File System (NFS). Sun significantly evolved several key computing technologies, among them Unix, RISC Processors, Thin Client Computing, and virtualized computing. Sun was founded on February 24, 1982.[2] At its height, Sun headquarters were in Santa Clara, California (part of Silicon Valley), on the former west campus of the Agnews Developmental Center.

On January 27, 2010, Sun was acquired by Oracle Corporation for US$7.4 billion, based on an agreement signed on April 20, 2009.[3] The following month, Sun Microsystems, Inc. was merged with Oracle USA, Inc. to become Oracle America, Inc.[4]

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sun_Microsystems

Next: My Remarkable Apartment in Fog City

Leave a Reply

