87) Stanley

Welcome to my autobiography.

I am glad you are here!

In the previous post,  you learned about  Oliver, our other small white dog, who passed in 2007, quite suddenly. In this post  you will read about Stanley, our other dog (and Oliver’s male companion for about 10  years).

Our dog Stanley has eyes that look like Sylvester Stallone’s. They are big, brown and kind of droopy.

And like Oliver, we bought Stanley at Pet City, a pet store at the shopping mall in the little town of Fort Collins, Colorado, where we live.

Stanley’s Hidden Gift

Stanley towered  over Oliver when Oliver was alive but was completely submissive to Oliver who used to lick Stanley’s ears for 20 minute stretches of time and growl when Stanley tried to get away. Oliver’s dominance over Stanley was a constant source of amusement for Nadine and myself. So when Ollie passed, Stanley had to learn to assert himself, make his own decisions and get a personality. This took years. For example, Stanley never learned how to play with other dogs. When he tries to play, he focuses on one dog and stalks the animal relentlessly. This has proved to be embarrassing at dog parks. But it is a very good way to meet people.

bichonAs I write this post, Stanley is a 14 year-old Bichon Frise of 25 pounds and is going blind and deaf. He has arthritis, hip dysplasia, lumps and warts. Nadine and I  don’t know how much longer he will be with us but today, he our happy, dumb “muffin-head” and needs me to go home at noon and put drops in his eyes.

Did you ever develop an attachment to an animal?

Next: An Invitation

2 thoughts on “87) Stanley

  1. Hi Oliver. I have 2 cats and an Italian Greyhound named Gretel. They keep me going and are my family. They are all over 10 years old and I like to make every moment with them count.

    1. Hi Carol,
      Like good friends, I love my dog more each day – the better I get to know him. Today I left Stanley on the sofa where he likes to sleep with his head nestled between the pillow and back of the sofa. Since he can’t get down by himself, when I finish up here at Starbucks I’ll go and let him down. It has taken me years to “read” him and figure out what he really wants – not that he ALWAYS gets it.
      Please give my best to Gretel and your cats!
      Oliver

Leave a Reply

