98) An Unreasonable Desire for Independence

Hello new reader!

Welcome to my autobiography.

I am glad you are here!

One great thing about penning an autobiography is that I don’t have to be apologetic for being self-absorbed here on these pages.

In the previous post you read about why, for a person like me, a career never seemed to be enough. In this post you will read me describing the state of mind I possessed nearing the end of my career in computer chip design then finally admitting to myself I would never be truly happy working in a job. Rich or poor it was my destiny to continue to seek more control and independence in my work and life. 

I began to search for ways to work at home – the next logical step, I figured, after working since the year 1995 as an independent contractor doing computer chip design.

Foundation

As you read earlier in my story, I developed a great deal of self-confidence by participating in after school sports and later making a life long commitment to personal fitness.

Then, as a young man in San Francisco, before my professional career in computer chip design, I held many outside sales positions and refined the art of winning people’s trust and respect.

In my fifties I began to notice others who seemed trapped in a job – in many cases these individuals had lost all hope of ever making a change in their life.

No Loyalty?

For some reason, and I can’t tell you why, it would never occur to me to lose hope and get stuck in a job that created misery for myself and everyone around me. Although now at an older age I can understand that some job holders feel a strong sense of duty and loyalty.  They may even  feel responsibility to a family member.  But many more sincerely believe they are incapable of doing more. And they may have just given up.

I do not understand this thinking.  But I know we are not all alike and view the prospect of change in different ways.

As my brother Dean once pointed out, “We all see life through the different filters of our genetics, education and experience.”

Okay, you have read here about my mindset during the year of 2004, as I felt the pinch  of  an increasingly stressful career, the despair of a chronically sick son and the desire to reach out to others like me who felt stuck.

Was I Qualified to Help Others?

Since I wasn’t qualified to practice psychology or social work I decided that going into business – one that might help free people from jobs they hated or that no longer served them – might offer the control over my circumstances I seemed so desperate to find.

But how many of us have saved enough, or are so capitalized that we could afford to open a store or buy a franchise costing thousands of dollars?

In the early 2000’s the work-at-home trend began to gain momentum.

A business that would help folks quit their jobs, be their own boss, work at home, set their own hours and walk around all day in their pajamas, if they chose.

Next – A Powerful But Misunderstood Work at Home Business Model

Leave a Reply

