106) More Unrealistic Aspirations

You have been reading my life story.

The last few posts have been about Stevie, who, during the ages of 7 to 22, struggled with a chronic pancreatitis.

Today, you will visit the protagonist (me) again, in 2007 as I realize my career as a chip design contractor is coming to an end. Stevie’s chronic disease and addiction to pain medication is still in full bloom, but Nadine and I have no choice, but to go on with our lives and hope our son’s condition improves.

Our  new house in Loveland, Colorado weighed in at about 3500 square feet. With lake and mountain views it is certainly wasn’t large by the standards of the rich but we designed the entire main floor to have nearly 20 foot ceilings, tall windows and oak floors throughout, which made for a very bright, cheerful space –  reminiscent of the lighting in my housing in Arizona, I suppose.

The Rationale

I was in search for a work at home opportunity. And it was reasonable, I concluded, the source of this information might be found on the internet. So in 2007, I decided that I was in possession of “the right stuff” to make a fortune working at home – or at least make a living.

The alternative was, at the age of 57, going back to college or locating a vocational program, the odds of which each seemed at least as distant as earning money working at home.

Besides, I had been working with computers independently my entire career in chip design.

Maybe this wasn’t so far-fetched.

The Pitch

“Hello Michael, this is Oliver,” I said a little nervously as I initiated an important phone conversation with the person who was offering the opportunity.

“So I understand you are interested in working with Wealth Miners and building an organization so you can retire in three to five years,” he said. Michael sounded confident and polished.

“Yes, I done quite a bit of marketing on MySpace and have used Pay-per-Click quite effectively,” I said.

“If you come in under me, at M1 (the equivalent of Level 1) we can get you started for about $500,” Michael said. “Not a problem,” I responded.

“I set up my whole team on Skype and show you step-by-step how to run an effective marketing campaign using Pay-Per_Click,” he continued. “Sounds great!” I said.

The Opportunity

Wealth Miners offered expert, in-depth, health, wealth and happiness information on CD’s which could be purchased outright and/or offered to others who would then sell the products to others. The commissions earned from these sales would then create direct income from direct sales and residual income to the sponsors responsible for bringing people into the company. This is known as multi-level marketing (an MLM).

Through extensive research, I learned that Wealth Miners enjoyed a pristine reputation. The company entered into an agreement with Carbon Copy Pro, which conducted specialized marketing and training programs to support the membership of Wealth Miners.

Only later would I learn I should have done a LOT more digging on Carbon Copy Pro. Although, it wasn’t as simple as that, as I hope to explain later.

Despite a spotty reputation, there are plenty of advantages to this business model, so I wrote a check for $500 and became a member of Wealth Miners.

Next – Getting Schooled, Part 1

 

Leave a Reply

