107) Taking My Best Shot

Greetings new reader!

I am glad you are here.

In my previous post you read about my desire to get out of my chip design contractor career and try to work at home. After deciding to leverage the advantages of the multilevel marketing business  model, such as low-cost of start-up, existing branding, comprehensive online training and residual income, I had only to decide what products and services to offer people.

Since my entire life had been a case study in self-improvement – due mostly to my own bad decisions when I was young, then having to catch-up – I reasoned there were many other folks interested in self-improvement. Like me, I reasoned, many were trying to make changes in their life to be better professionals, add more value to their company, be better parents, be healthier, be more literate, make better decisions and just be better people.

In fact, I was passionate about self-improvement.

Here is an excerpt from a leading market research organization (taken from a website offering a report)  to support my proposition:

“This Marketdata study examines the $10.4 billion market for motivational “self-improvement” programs and products that seek to improve us physically, mentally, financially or spiritually. Discusses the market for: books, CDs/DVDs, audiobooks, infomercials, motivational speakers, multi-media packages, public seminars, workshops, retreats, webinars, holistic institutes, personal coaching, online education, websites, training organizations and more. Nature of the business and outlooks for each market segment. Major topic categories covered: weight loss/exercise, business/sales skills, business opportunities/investing, improving relationships, general motivational, and stress management.”

Source – http://www.marketresearch.com/Marketdata-Enterprises-Inc-v416/Self-Improvement-Products-Services-7284574/

I then took a personal inventory;

I was a 57-year-old, white male, living in the United States, with a wife and two grown children.

  • I was quickly approaching the point of non-functionality in my stressful technical career
  • Although I looked at myself as a bit of a maverick, I was optimistic, fairly disciplined and enjoyed robust health
  • I had earned a degree in business, had a ton of direct sales experience but had never balanced a checkbook

But was I, or could I become a leader?

In my previous sales positions, my achievements had been realized when I was selling face to face, or at least in the same room with my prospect.

Could I begin and close a sale over the phone or over the internet?

Could I build a team of people as passionate about self-improvement products as I was?

Was I someone people would  want to follow into a home business?

Next – Wealth Miners,  Carbon Copy Pro and My  Upline Sponsor

Leave a Reply

