125) Respect

Greetings new reader!

I am glad you are here.

In the last post I shared how I got started with my writing.

In this post you will read about Barb Wade, a Life Coach that found a weakened and cautious young warrior named Stevie and helped him understand he really was in control of his life if only he would take some small steps to move himself forward.

Barb’s work with Stevie was just between them, but as Stevie’s father I can tell you the stakes were life and death. Because at  any time while Barb was helping him, he could easily have slipped back into a cycle of hopeless addiction.

What does a life coach do?

A life coach helps you:

  • Get crystal clear on what you really what in your life
  • Uncover what’s holding you back from achieving your vision for yourself
  • Take action steps to achieve your vision by supporting you and keeping you accountable

Just out of Mountain Crest a couple of weeks earlier, Stevie unloaded boxes in the tiny apartment we had rented for him in Fort Collins, Colorado.

“Barb helped me write a resume and find a job at the cafeteria and I start Saturday morning,” Stevie chirped, sounding cheerful.

Stevie didn’t do cheerful. So I had a reason to believe whatever Barb was doing, whatever affects the suboxone were having on him, were really working.

Stevie had found a sliver of hope.

Nadine and I had not observed Stevie having any hope since just after his abdominal surgery in 1999. when he had been pain-free (although not drug-free) for a few weeks.

“Awesome, Steve,” I responded. “I know this apartment isn’t much but its a good first step. What time should I pick you up for work on Saturday morning?”

“Have to be there at 5:45,” Stevie said.

I picked Stevie up the next morning, dropped him off at work and got him home again dozens of times that summer of 2009.

On most mornings Stevie was barely awake. There was usually a tense silence in the car.

At the end of each of Stevie’s shifts, working in the cafeteria – sometimes setting places, sometimes folding napkins, sometimes cleaning up after group banquets and sometimes serving coffee – he would climb into the car sweaty and exhausted.

Like me, Stevie hated hot weather. And I could see he was really struggling to get up at 4:30 and work around the cafeteria in the sometimes hot conditions, only to go back to his hot apartment and sweat some more.

But each shift that Stevie completed that summer in the cafeteria, my respect for him grew.

I was beginning to see that Stevie possessed a tremendous work ethic.

Stevie and I had done a lot of stuff together, including; movies, playing basketball, Stevie’s martial arts, football, golf, car races, chess, fishing, boating, scouting, on my motorcycle, and hiking.

We had both tried hard to bond but we didn’t always see “things” the same way.

But seeing him this way – his sweat-drenched shirt clinging to his body – really opened my eyes.

At 23, Stevie was becoming a man.

At the time, we didn’t know how we were going to pay for Barb Wade’s Life Coaching. It was certainly not cheap.

Looking back, it was worth every penny.

Stevie was building a platform.

Maybe there was a way out of this.

Leave a Reply

