135) Can Re-Invention of Self Push Start-Up to “Success”?

Greetings new readers!

I am glad you are here.

In my last post you read about my short journey with Advanced Micro Devices (AMD), in Fort Collins, Colorado during 2011. In this post you will see me back in the “fray” again, returning to the mission and set of activities that provide a healthy American with the highest probability for financial and time freedom – starting a home-based business. Yes, another one.

And of course, the best time to start a business is when you have reached middle age and convinced yourself you have become “unemployable” by any reasonable definition.

So in the fall of 2011, after declaring to my work buddies at AMD that I had lost the passion for semiconductor chip design (layout) and without prospects for a job of any kind, I tapped the entire contents of my 401K from AMD and began my search for some unclaimed “words” – keywords, that is.

Did you ever want something so badly, you ignored expert advice in pursuit?

This part of my story leaves me vulnerable – and you may be thinking stupid – for including it here on this page. I certainly could have left it out.

Funny thing, after so many business failures I have the confidence not to particularly care what people think anymore. No, I care. But I  don’t let people’s opinions stop me.

Classic Swiss Watches (formerly ClassicSwissWatches.com) was my next venture. It is enough to say that it failed badly because I ignored my own advice about entering a market where the strength  and volume of competition was unfavorable. Looking back, I did a lot of things right, however not the former.

The big thing I learned from developing  and  operating this  e-commerce site was the big “players” in any industry operate by a different set of rules, which afford them certain “advantages”.

From time to time I post on the Full Sail University blog, the institution where I earned my graduate business degree. It is a place where – I am sorry to say – sometimes the blind lead the blind. That is to say, the smartest and most outspoken graduate student bloggers often hold considerable sway over the less opinionated. It is a venue that is not tolerant of truly experienced business practitioners who are not blindly positive – not “BRIGHTSIDERS”, if you will. I have considered that if not for the untempered optimism of these individuals, no businesses  would start. And I have come to realize our nations business schools serve that function very well – however misguided some of us may think it is.

My visits to The Full Sail University Alumni Forum are less frequent these days.

Funnier still, I remain optimistic.

Leave a Reply

